Democracy Cafe

Board of Directors and Officers

Christopher Phillips, PhD, Founder/Executive Director

Cecilia Chapa Phillips, MEd, Secretary/Treasurer

Dennis Dienst, Board Chair, MSSCM, CPSM, CPIM Senior Category Manager, Printed Circuit Board Assemblies, TSI Incorporated

Linda Pierce, MBA, Performance Management Group, Virginia Commonwealth University

Advisory Board

Honorary Board Member, Dr. Cornel West, Professor of the Practice of Public Philosophy, Harvard University

Paul Martin, Chief Investment Officer, Martin Capital Advisors, LLP

Harlynn Duecy, Public Relations Strategist, Microsoft Corp

Danielle Olson, MFA, Visual Strategist, DROdesign, Communications and Content Manager, Hatch Innovation

Paul Stahl, Director of Government Sales, DynaTouch Corporation; Chair, San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees

Suhail Arastu, Board of Trustees, Mind Science Foundation; Director of Development, Musical Bridges Around the World

Jorge Lopez Campos, Entrepreneur, Mexico City

Rob Horn, Analyst,U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, MA, Public Policy and Citizen Participation, Tufts

T.J. Mayes, Attorney, San Antonio

Sam Fairchild, CEO, Estrella Group

Peter Schoonmaker, PhD, Founding Chair, MFA Program in Collaborative Design, Pacific Northwest College of Art; Founder and ED, Illahee

Anthoula Katsimatidesactor, board member of the National September 11th Memorial and Museum

Andrew Murphy, Dept. of Political Science, Rutgers University

Shirley Strum Kenny, PhD, Retired President, Stony Brook University

Lawrence Lessig, Professor of Law and Leadership, Pro-Democracy Activist, Harvard Law School

Ralph Lewin, Executive Director, Peter E. Haas Junior Family Fund, Former Executive Director, Mechanics’ Institute, Past President and CEO, Cal Humanities

Thaddeus Russell, PhD, historian, scholar, essayist, author of ‘A Renegade History of the United States’

Odin Hartshorn Halvorson — writer, filmmaker, philosopher, geek

Charles Massiatte, BA, cum laude, Harvard University, School of Extension Studies; Founder, Young Scholars of Texas, Associate, Martin Capital Advisors (

Omar Akhil, Founder of Brainiac, Owner of Vaulkshire Investment Advisors

Brian Austin, Captain of Investigative Services Section and Deputy SWAT Commander, Founder of Cops for Labor, Madison, WI

Stewart Harris, Professor of Law, Host, ‘Your Weekly Constitutional’

David Blacker, PhD, Professor of Philosophy of Education and Legal Studies, University of Delaware

Stephen Duncombe, PhD, Professor, Gallatin School and Dept. of Media, Culture and Communications, NYU